Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog

Activities for kids in car

Lap Boards

Have seen some remarkable DIY lapboards on Pinterest. However, I do not sew buttons. I do not do well with wood, foam, or stretching fabric. I do not even cut a straight line. So this is my version of a DIY lap board. Locate A cheap magnetic baking tray (trick -- they're not all magnetic; assess first). This 9 x 13 tray cost 99 cents. Then get some markers or crayons and hot glue magnet strips to them (even glue strips can utilize that extra adhesive). Anything To maintain my toddler out of dropping a mark each five seconds. The Sketchpad was out of the dollar bin at Target.

Fairy Tale Coloring Pages

Here Are a few fairy tale coloring pages that my Five, Four, and Seven will enjoy. These are a freebie that I am currently offering to my e-mail subscribers. Learn more about them in this post.

Color by Number Addition Pages

My Seven asked for color by number pages. I wanted to make something that would challenge her as well as give her something she enjoys, so I set addition details on those fairy tale figures. You can find the set of ten complimentary pages by visiting this particular post.

Drawing Prompts

This Complete the Picture drawing pad from Melissa and Doug is brilliant. It's definitely too advanced for my 2 and likely my Four. But I think it's something my older two kids, ages seven and five, will really appreciate. I had to trim the pages to fit them into the small baking sheets.

Snacks, Snacks... and More Snacks

And What would a lengthy car ride be without snacks? We do not generally have prepackaged snacks in our house, but I am making this trip an exception. I'm packing mini chocolate chip cookies, honey graham sticks, crispy cheddar crackers, granola bars, and bunny bites. I'm also packing some dry cereal (a rare treat -- that our kids have plain yogurt with just a scatter of cereal for breakfast), string cheese, snap peas, and baby carrots. Plus a brand new water jug full of ice water.

Magnetic Matching Activities

Made these simple matching activities for my Two. He enjoys this type of item, and it'll give him something to do when he's beginning to get antsy. Since there are magnets on the back of each piece to keep him from spilling them, I am hoping that this will be easy and enjoyable. This does take some time to assemble, but I think it will be worth it. See the tutorial and get the free printables in this post.

To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Top